Level 2 Health & Social Care Intermediate Apprenticeship

What work tasks would a Level 2 Health & Social Care Apprentice complete?

- Work in a care environment (hospital, care home, personal assistant)
- Support the people (who need support) to remain independent - this may involve carrying out personal care or helping to feed an individual
- Promote rights and choices
- Uphold dignity and respect
- Be caring, compassionate and trustworthy

What are the entry requirements?

Candidates must be aged 16 or over and should have/be:

- An up to date DBS check
- Trustworthy, caring and compassionate
- Good interpersonal skills
- Good communication skills
- Physically fit as there may be some lifting and handling tasks
- Able to commit to working unsociable hours any day of the week
- Prepared to meet challenges i.e deaths

What is the duration of the course?

Level 2 Apprenticeship in Health and Social Care takes approximately 12 to 15 months to complete.

How can I progress in Health & Social Care?

After completing the Level 2 Apprenticeship in Health & Social Care, you can then progress onto the Level 3 Advanced Apprenticeship.  Once you have achieved the L2 qualification it will enable you to work in the NHS as a Health Care Assistant or you may want to go and be a personal assistant and support someone in their own home.

What Qualifications will I gain?

1. The Level 2 NVQ in Health & Social Care:
The National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) will be gained through on the job training and the assessment of this.

2. Employment Rights and Responsibilities (ERR):
Employment Rights and Responsibilities cover legislation and other key policies you need to know and understand, relevant to your job role.

3. Functional Skills in English, Maths and ICT:
Functional Skills are qualifications in Maths, English and ICT that equip learners with the practical skills needed to learn, live and work successfully.

4. PLTS (Personal, Learning and Thinking Skills):
These are generic skills that are essential to life, learning and work. There are 6 PLTS:
- Independent Enquirers 
- Creative Thinkers 
- Reflective Learners 
- Team Workers 
- Self-managers 
- Effective Participators